Jordan Henderson Crowned FWA Player of The Season.


Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson has been voted as Football Writers Association (FWA) Player of the year edging past Manchester City star Kevin De Bruyne and United attacker Marcus Rashford as well as team mates Virgil Van Dijk and Sadio Mane.

Henderson edged past his team mates Sadio Mane and Van Dijk

The dominance of Liverpool in the league reflected once again as Trent Alexander Arnold and Alisson Becker also recieved votes but in the end, Jordan Henderson was victor.

Speaking after he won, Henderson said:  “I’d like to say how appreciative I am of the support of those who voted for me and the Football Writers’ Association in general.

“You only have to look at the past winners of it, a number of whom I’ve been blessed to play with here at Liverpool, like Stevie (Gerrard), Luis (Suarez) and Mo (Salah) to know how prestigious it is.

Here was voted ahead of Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne

“But as grateful as I am I don’t feel like I can accept this on my own.

“I don’t feel like anything I’ve achieved this season or in fact during my whole career has been done on my own.

“I owe a lot to so many different people – but none more so than my current team-mates – who have just been incredible and deserve this every bit as much as I do.

“We’ve only achieved what we’ve achieved because every single member of our squad has been brilliant. And not just in matches. Not just in producing the moments that make the headlines and the back pages but every day in training.”

Marcus Rashford was also in the list but the Liverpool captain won the race

Henderson becomes the first Liverpool captain to lift the Premier League trophy as the Merseysiders end their 30 years drought.  He also lifted the Champions League in 2019 and the Club World Cup.

He was also named England national team’s Player of the year in January 2020.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here